Mayo Basketball League Senior Ladies League 1982-1985

MBL Senior Ladies League 1982

MBL Senior Ladies League 1982PWLPts
Castlebar Aces A1211122
Castlebar Aces B128416
[References: 1]

MBL Senior Ladies League 1983

MBL Senior Ladies League 1983PWLPts
Balllina Trojans1212024
Castlebar Aces128416
St. Mary’s121112
[References: 2]

MBL Senior Ladies League 1984

No Final Table at time of writing.

MBL Senior Ladies League 1985

MBL Senior Ladies League 1985PWLPts
Castlebar Aces1211122
[References: 3]


Castlebar won the Mayo Basketball League Senior Ladies League twice in four seasons from 1982 to 1985. In 1982 they finished four points clear of second placed Grumbacher with 11 wins from 12 matches, totalling 22 points. Their ‘B’ Team even finished third as they dominated the League. Hollymount finished third on 7-5 and then it was a bit of a drop to Garrymore (5-7), Ballintubber (3-9) and Swinford (0-12).

Three of those teams did not return for the 1983 season as Castlebar’s B team dropped out as did Garrymore and Swinford following disappointing campaigns. They were replaced by Ballyhaunis (who finished fourth), St. Mary’s who took Swinford’s position at the foot of the table, and Ballina Trojans, who won all 12 games in their first year in the Mayo League to take the title. Hollymount and Castlebar had a great tussle for second, both finishing on 8-4 who were to playoff to decide the runners-up spot. Grumbacher (4-8) and Ballintubber (2-10) finished in the bottom half of the table.

Castlebar Senior Ladies won the Mayo Basketball League Championship again in 1985 despite losing their last game 62-41 in a shock to Ballyhaunis the runners-up in the Championship. It was Castlebar’s only loss of the season which the Connaught Telegraph said was won by the Castlebar Ladies’ experience, this being not their first Championship title. The Final Week also saw a crunch game between Grumbacher and Ballintubber with Grumbacher winning after extra-time to take third place, both teams being on similar records going into the match. Castlebar’s final tally in winning the Championship was 11 wins and one loss with Ballyhaunis finishing on 9-3. Other teams were Hollymount who finished fourth on 6-4 courtesy of Ballintubber’s loss and Westport (2-10) and Ballinrobe (0-10) in the 7 team league.



[1] Anon. (1985) “Keen contest for second places” Connaught Telegraph. Wednesday, March 10, 1982. Pg. 19.

[2] Anon. (1985) “Ballina Trojans crowned champs” Connaught Telegraph. Wednesday, March 9, 1983. Pg. 19.

[3] Anon. (1985) “Castlebar Ladies clinch crown” Connaught Telegraph. Wednesday, March 13, 1985. Pg. 18.


Thanks to .

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish, North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 13 May 2021

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2021

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *