Golfing Union of Ireland Terry Wogan Classic 1991

Golfing Union of Ireland Logo [Ref: 1]

Limerick Golf Club, 16 June 1991

R Hurley 13, D Desmond 12, JP McManus 18, J Magnier 1794
J Carrott 13, M Healy 20, M O’Brien 9, M Barrett 1293
P Cole 16, S Mulvaney 22, D Lappin 8, B Barry 1992
E Hand 18, F Hogan 18, H Droog 12, J McKenna 1392
P Matthews 14, P Hayes 9, J Rohan 14, J Gilmartin 991
Ten Hole Competition
M MacCurtain 23, G Malne 11, B Fitzgerald 14, A Manning 2747
J Lynch 3, J Mulcair 14, M Corrigan 12, D Fennelly 1845
L Brady 14, B Cousineau 16, M Collins 17, D Gallery 1645
Golfing Union of Ireland Terry Wogan Classic 1991 [Ref: 2]


Torrential rain put a dampener on one of the social highlights of the Golfing Union of Ireland calendar – the Terry Wogan Classic in Limerick. The main competition was won by the team of Red Hurley, Dermot Desmond, JP McManus and John Magnier with a score of 94.

With the weather conditions, almost half the teams had to play a shortened 10-hole competition, with M MacCurtain, G Malone, B Fitzgerald and A Manning the winning team on 47 points.


[1] Golfing Union of Ireland (2020) Logos_GUI2_x2 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 26 July 2020]


[2] Anon. (1991) “A-Z of Weekend sport: Golf”Irish Independent. Monday, 17 June 1991. Pg. 18-19


Thanks to Conor Lynch.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 26 July 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *