Basketball Ireland Post-Primary Schools All-Ireland Schools League U19 A Boys 2018-19

All-Ireland Finals

DateHome TeamScoreAway TeamScore
Quarter-FinalsNational Basketball Arena
05.02.19St. Joseph’s Bish78St. Pat’s Cavan38
05.02.19St. Malachy’s College61St. Olivers’s Drogheda55
05.02.19Mercy Mounthawk51St. Mary’s Portlaoise75
Quarter-FinalsOblate Hall, Inchicore
05.02.19Gael Cholaiste Mhuire60St. Paul’s Oughterard63
Semi-FinalsNational Basketball Arena
05.02.19St. Paul’s Oughterard41St. Malachy’s College58
05.02.19St. Mary’s Portlaoise 41St. Joseph’s The Bish71
28.02.19St. Malachy’s College52St. Joseph’s The Bish43

Reference: [2][3]

Playoff Tables

Pool A (Host:Colaiste Chiarain Leixlip)
St. Patrick’s Cavan3301441119
St. Aidan’s Cork2111071043
Colaiste Chiarain Leixlip2111121123
CBS The Green Tralee3031451810
Pool B (Host: St. Patrick’s SS Oughterard)
St. Patrick’s SS Oughterard (Galway)3302201399
Ballincollig CS (Cork)3211781796
Scoil Pobail Sliabh Luachra Rathmore3121401792
Castleknock College3031381830
Pool C (Host: Colaiste Iosagain Portarlington)
St. Oliver’s CC Drogheda (Louth)220116946
Malahide CS (Fingal)21182963
Colaiste Iosagain Portarlington (Laois)202971050
Calasanctius College Oranmore (Galway)000000
Pool D (Host: St. Macartan’s College Monaghan)
St. Mary’s CBS Portlaoise (Laois)3301591279
St. Macartan’s College Monaghan3211811106
Summerhill College Sligo3121421853
Oatlands College (Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown)3031081580

Reference: Compiled from [1]

Playoff Results

20 January 2019

Team 1Team 2
Pool A
Colaiste Chiarain Leixlip48St. Patrick’s Cavan56
St. Aidan’s Cork71CBS The Green Tralee62
St. Patrick’s Cavan42St. Aidan’s Cork36
CBS The Green Tralee56Colaiste Chiarain Leixlip64
St. Patrick’s Cavan46CBS The Green Tralee27
Colaiste Chiarain LeixlipcSt. Aidan’s Corkc
Pool B18 January 2019
St. Patrick’s Oughterard69Castleknock College46
SP Sliabh Luachra Rathmore43Ballincollig CS72
Castleknock College42SP Sliabh Luachra Rathmore54
Ballincollig CS46St. Patrick’s Oughterard86
Castleknock College50Ballincollig CS60
St. Patrick’s Oughterard65SP Sliabh Luachra Rathmore47
Pool C20 January 2019
Colaiste Iosagain Portarlington40Malahide CS45
Malahide CS37St. Oliver’s CC Drogheda56
Colaiste Iosagain Portarlington57St. Oliver’s CC Drogheda60
Pool D20 January 2019
St. Macartan’s Monaghan58Oatlands College31
St. Mary’s CBS Portlaoise50Summerhill College Sligo42
Oatlands College29St. Mary’s CBS Portlaoise43
Summerhill College Sligo33St. Macartan’s Monaghan67
Oatlands College48Summerhill College Sligo57
St. Macartan’s Monaghan56St. Mary’s CBS Portlaoise66

Reference: [1]


FINAL: St. Malchy’s College (Belfast) 52 St. Joseph’s The Bish (Galway) 43

The teams were level at 14 points apiece at the end of the First Quarter with Cormac O’Rourke, Conor McDowell and Conor Ryan getting on the scoresheet for St. Malachy’s and James Connaire, Liam Nolan and James Cummins scoring for the Galway College.

The Second Quarter was as close with the defenses getting on top, as it finished 23-22 to St. Joseph’s, with a big three-pointer from Cummins helping them into the lead at the half.

The Bish raced into a 30-22 lead early in the third, but two huge three-pointers from CJ Fulton saw the Belfast side back into the match. Fulton scored all 11 of St. Malachy’s points in the Third Quarter, and he added 12 in the Fourth for 28 in Total, as a massive second half from the Belfast Player saw them home 52-43, and he desrvedly won the MVP Award.

St. Malchy’s College: CJ Fulton (28), Niall Hurson, Conor Eastwood, Conn Doherty, Conor Ryan (6), Cormac O’Rourke (9), Conor McDonnell (6), Ryan Scott, Callum Rocks, Conor Cooke (5)

St. Joseph’s The Bish (Galway) James Cummins (8), Iarlaith O’Sullivan, Darragh Mannion, James Wall, Brian Chege, Liam Nolan (15), James Connaire (11), Matthew Sweeney, Aaron Kiernan (7), Daniel Hackett, Chioera Okeke (2), Thomas Togher, Patrick McDonnell, Zak Lally.

MVP: CJ Fulton (St. Malachy’s College)

Reference: [3]

How They Qualified:

East Region
E1Malahide Community School (Dublin)
E2Oatlands College (Dublin)
E3Colaiste Chiarain Leixlip (Kildare)
E4Castleknock College (Dublin)

Midland / South East Region
M/SE1St. Mary’s CBS Portlaoise (Laois)
M/SE2Colaiste Iosagain Portarlington (Laois)
South Region
S1Gael Cholaiste Mhuire AG (Cork) – Qualify direct to Quarter-Finals
S2St. Aidan’s (Cork)
S3Ballincollig Community School (Cork)
South West Region
SW1Mercy Mounthawk Tralee (Kerry) – Qualify direct to Quarter-Finals
SW2Scoil Pobail Sliabh Luachra Rathmore (Kerry)
SW3CBS The Green Tralee (Kerry)
West Region
W1St. Joseph’s The Bish (Galway) – Qualify direct to Quarter-Finals
W2St. Paul’s SS Oughterard (Galway)
W3Calasanctius College Oranmore (Galway)
North / North West Region
N/NW1St. Malachy’s College (Belfast) – Qualify direct to Quarter-Finals
N/NW2 Summerhill College (Sligo)
North East Region
NE1St. Macartan’s College (Monaghan)
NE2St. Oliver’s Community College Drogheda (Louth)
NE3St. Pat’s (Cavan)

Reference: [1]




[1] Basketball Ireland (2019) U19U16 Boys Playoff Results 2019.pdf [Internet] Available from:
[Accessed 8 February 2019]

[2] Basketball Ireland (2019) Gamezone: All Ireland Schools League Quarter-Finals & Semi-Finals [Internet] Available from:
[Accessed 21 March 2019]

[3] Basketball Ireland (2019) DAY TWO: All Ireland Schools League Finals [Internet] Available from:
[Accessed 21 March 2019]


Thanks to Jim Naughton, Colaiste Eanna & Barry Wyse, Templeogue College.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 22 March 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *